FAA names six states as UAV test sites

FAA names six states as UAV test sites

The six states that won the bids will see a major economic impact from job creation.

Source: Precision Hawk

The FAA has announced that six states have won the bid for official UAV testing sites.

The states that won the bids include Virginia, Nevada, Texas, New York, Alaska and North Dakota.

The sites will allow for testing of UAVs in controlled environments to gather data on how different UAVs perform. In 2015, the FAA has been mandated to open the airspace for operation of UAVs.  Agriculture is said to be one of the primary beneficiaries of UAV technology in the future.

Read more information from the FAA on the announcement.

Like what you’re reading? Subscribe to Farm Industry News Now e-newsletter to get the latest news and more straight to your inbox twice weekly.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.